adventures in furniture hunting : an old trunk

One day Brad and I decided to go antiquing (so not Brad’s idea of fun) but I LOVE it! Brad spotted this old trunk (something I have hoped to find for a long time) but it was painted…and not the item we were hunting for at all. The guy at this place told me if I loved it we could have it for $20 and we couldn’t leave without it…lol! That was the start of our furniture projects that would keep us busy for the next few weeks (perfect when those were also the few weeks before the big move) πŸ˜‰ I thought we would paint it black but Brad thought we should refinish it…and so the journey began!

The original white trunk…

Realizing that there were many coats of paint and then some sort of wallpaper to get through…yikes! This was the moment Brad said “maybe we should just paint it” WHAT?? Not now after I have dreamed of what this trunk could possibly look like…and to give up now. No way could I give up…so we kept working!

Once we stripped all the layers down we were a bit bummed that the trunk still wasn’t perfect…lol. Next came a TON of sanding and scraping bit of paint off…

Finally I realized it was not perfect we were looking for but something unique and a way to bring out the original beauty of this trunk…and finally after more hours than I want to admit we had it just way I had dreamed it would be πŸ™‚

I still have a few more projects to share but I will save them for another day since my kids have probably locked themselves or each other in a closet or spilled juice all over the kitchen at this point…lol! Off to find out what I missed in the past 10 minutes πŸ˜‰

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “adventures in furniture hunting : an old trunk

  1. it looks amazing! I love old trunks/chests. I can imagine how much work it was though πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

